Documentation‎ > ‎User Manual‎ > ‎

Lookmarks

Lookmarks are used to save and re-create specific views of one or more datasets. You can easily re-create complex visualizations and filter trees. Lookmarks can also be used to compare datasets with similar geometry because the lookmark will apply the same changes to both sets. The lookmark will store the pipeline filters, display properties and rendering information so that these settings can be applied to a source to re-create the visualization.

Any lookmarks that are created are available for the current and later sessions until they are deleted, or you can choose to export lookmarks and save them to a file so they can be imported into any session.

In ParaViewGeo, the lookmark functionality is comprised of two windows; The Lookmark Browser and the Lookmark Inspector. A Lookmarks toolbar is also available. The windows and toolbar can be turned on using the View menu.


Contents

Creating a Lookmark

There are two ways of creating lookmarks. Once you have created the visualization, the easiest way to create the lookmark is to use the Lookmark icon on the menu bar of the render view containing the visualization. The second way is to use Tools > Create Lookmark to save a lookmark of the active view.

With either method, the Create Lookmark dialog box displays and you are prompted for a unique lookmark name. You can also add a description of the lookmark if you wish. Click on Create to save a copy of the lookmark.


The Lookmarks Toolbar

The Lookmarks toolbar appears similar to a film-strip and displays thumbnails of all the lookmarks that are available in the current session. By default, this toolbar appears docked on the right side of the application window. Hovering the mouse over one of the thumbnails displays the lookmarks name, and right-clicking provides four options; Lookmark Browser, New, Edit and Delete.

Selecting Lookmark Browser will open the browser window. The New option will display the Create Lookmark dialog box to create a lookmark of the currently active view. Edit will display the Lookmark Inspector so the properties can be changed, and the Delete option will remove the lookmark from the current session.

If you left-click on one of the lookmarks, the stored settings will be applied to the selected source in the active render view. A single click is enough, a double click will apply the lookmark twice and you will have to remove the duplication in the pipeline (either manually or by using the Undo button).


The Lookmark Browser

The Lookmark Browser contains a list of the thumbnails and names of all the lookmarks available in the current session. With the browser, you can import, export or delete multiple lookmarks. To select multiple lookmarks, hold down the Ctrl key and click on each of the lookmarks, or use the Shift key to select multiple lookmarks that are next to each other.

Importing lookmarks will open the Open Lookmark File dialog box where you can browse to the lookmarks file (*.lmk or *.xml); the lookmarks are added to the bottom of the list. To export lookmarks, select the lookmarks you want to save and click on the Export button. You will need to enter a file name and select where you want to store the lookmarks file. Deleting one or more lookmarks will remove them from the current and future sessions.

You can apply a lookmark to the selected source by double-clicking on the lookmark in the browser list.

If the Lookmark Inspector is open at the same time as the Lookmark Browser, the properties of the lookmark selected in the browser will be displayed in the inspector.


The Lookmark Inspector

The Lookmark Inspector displays the properties of a lookmark. There are two ways to choose which lookmark is displayed; select the lookmark in the Lookmark Browser, or right-click on the lookmark in the Lookmarks toolbar and select Edit.

The Display button will apply the lookmark in the active render view, and the Pipeline View shows the pipeline that will be generated when the lookmark is applied. The Delete button will remove the lookmark from the session.

The Save button is used to save changes made to the lookmark using the other fields available in the inspector. You can change the Name and Description of the lookmark, and you can choose to apply the camera settings or time value with the checkboxes at the bottom. When a lookmark is initially created, the camera setting and time value of the selected view are also saved. When this lookmark is later applied, these values can be restored by marking the corresponding checkboxes.


Applying a Lookmark

When a lookmark is saved, a certain number of inputs are stored, and the lookmarks need to be applied to the same number of input sources. An input can be a reader, source or filter in the pipeline.

If a lookmark has a single input, the source selected in the pipeline when the lookmark is applied will become the new input for the lookmark. If no source is selected, a Lookmark Source Chooser window displays. This window shows the Lookmark Pipeline Preview on the left, and a Select Source tree on the right, where you can select the input to which the pipeline is applied.

If the stored lookmark contains two or more inputs, you are automatically prompted to choose the sources that will be used as inputs.

Once the inputs are selected, the lookmark's pipeline is loaded into the active view.

The Undo button can be used to reverse the changes of a lookmark if required.



Next Section Previous Section Return To
Custom Filters Comparative Views User Manual
Comments